ALDI Employee Reviews

Found 3,682 reviews matching the search See all 6,242 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Practice What You Preach"
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaOctober 14, 2019
The philosophy statement 'we value employees they are the focus of our company' is not truly consistent with the actual treatment workers receive. During training - what little there is - and also during orientation, the company wants you to believe that you will be a valued member of their workforce. However, none of this is really true based upon what I have endured and experienced, while working for ALDI. The metrics and deadlines are impossible, the management is inconsiderate and downright disrespectful. Those same 'competitive benefits' package we were promised during orientation haven't really panned out either. For example, we haven't received any raises in a very long time, plus the health insurance isn't all that it's cracked up to be. It's a very basic plan with lots of limitations of coverage, including several basic medically necessary types of procedures which don't seem to be covered. The worst part of the employment experience for me so far, is how rigid the upper management is. They rarely have nice or complimentary things to say during their visits. I feel like no matter how hard I/we try to do our best at this job, the executives still seem to find something to gripe about or complain. That is a real morale crusher. It doesn't seem to matter that we try our best with so few resources and so few staff to get all tasks and projects completed. Upper management still, seems to be oblivious to that fact and still often finds nit-picky stuff to complain about. The workload is also way too intense for just one employee, you're on average completing workloads of 3-4  more... others which is how the company maintains its competitive advantage over other grocers. By shrinking salary and wage overhead, the company can pass on the savings to consumers. However, I personally feel like this business practice is no longer practical or feasible. It doesn't account for example, all of the high turnover and costs of having to retrain people who leave in such a short time. There are some positives to working here, the compensation for hourly managers is slightly higher than other retailers. Some of the skills which I've acquired about time and people management, and budgeting expenses will hopefully help me to advance further in my career. With just those couple positives however, are a lot of negatives. This company has a long road ahead of it in terms of creating a strong organizational culture. Their priorities are focused too much on the short-term growth and expansion into other markets. That will only last for awhile. Yet the bigger concerns of employee morale and retention seem to be nothing more than fleeting afterthoughts. That is probably, from the angle that I'm analyzing everything, what might possibly lead to the future downfall of ALDI. The company cannot succeed without its people, yet when they treat those same people like garbage, that doesn't really appear to be a very winning business strategy.  less
Pros
enhancement of my professional skills: budgeting, managing, analytics
Cons
the culture of ALDI has deteriorated so much in just the past few years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, poor managment
ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Mason City, IAOctober 14, 2019
Company in general isnt bad. I actually love the store itself. Great deals! Employees are great to work with. However, wouldnt advise working at the mason city location due to poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Store Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KSOctober 13, 2019
If you don't mind not having a social life and working yourself to the bone. It may have been the area, but the customers made me want to quit. It's a thankless job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Stressful job and some people work more than others.
Associate (Former Employee) –  Benton Harbor, MIOctober 13, 2019
In this job you have to work really hard, you lift a lot of weight, I learn hoe to stock the products, how to feel cooler, freezer, how to do meat, the management some times was really rud with some peoples, the most enjoyable part was when I was ringing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
STRESSFUL, do not apply, over-worked/under paid. District Managers, Directors & store managers are not trained properly on confidentiality; bullies
N/A (Current Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAOctober 13, 2019
BEWARE; Upper management, DO NOT respect boundaries concerning confidential matters, too involved in employees personal affairs, there's no HR dept!!!
Pros
Gain experience
Cons
The Aldi way; over worked/under paid, No room for advancement, No raises, No Human Resources depart for such a big company, Stressful environment, Morale is horrible, District managers are only advancement positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to learn and leave as it is
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NCOctober 13, 2019
It's pretty set and stone there at the warehouse. There is not much room for growth as a selector. Its a dead-end position. When I first joined, I was optimistic about getting paid better than an entry-level job, and thought that I landed a great job.

Six months in the job can be brutally physical, and being full time gets old real fast, four days a week, short hours, and stubborn management. The biggest complaint I would have is on the management. They have walls up when you try and talk to them. Their responses and conversations inspire absolutely no team motivation performance or incentive. I have seen a new warehouse selector group that has been replaced just in the almost two years I worked there. They are wasting thousands of operational dollars, replacing employees why not invest in your employee's growth? Before I left, I felt just how little they cared about me as an individual even with excellent satisfactory performance I had with them.
They expect you to pick 200 cases per hour, and for some selectors, they put some on probation if your rate drops below 180. Probation means you have one month to do better or your out the door the rate is calculated on a monthly bases. If you're on their watch list they will come talk to you every week.

Based on what I know now, I hate to say while Aldi is such a great low price grocery store. This job has serious consequences if you're looking for something better, which there is. I take my jobs seriously, and this was short-lived, one that I won't look back on. I got enough pay that I need from this particular position,
  more... and I am moving along.  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointed
Receiver (Former Employee) –  Webberville, MIOctober 12, 2019
Worked here for roughly a year and in that year it went from great to horrible, leaders do not lead at all, not very friendly and most of all fake and shallow, upper management does not seem to know how to run a warehouse, they are aware of the major problems and do not take any action, hard work is absolutely not rewarded.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Aldi
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is scared to fire anyone
Store Associate (Current Employee) –  Springfield, ILOctober 12, 2019
I've worked there for 2 to 3 years and unfortunately there are always people who like to slack yet get away with it. They tend to let things slide because management don't want to have to put new employees through a month long training orientation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active, Hard working
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Arroyo Grande, CAOctober 11, 2019
Aldi was a one of a kind experience, pushing me to do and be better. It taught me many valuable lessons that I will need in life, it proceeded to work my hardest every second of every hour. I learned many attributes such as assessing situations, communication, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Almost any other grocery store has a better work/life balance.
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIOctober 11, 2019
I worked for the Aldi on the East Side of Madison on Lien Road. Often employees would be threatened to be fired if they called in sick. On several occasions, we in fact had employees soil themselves at the register, because the Store Manager didn't find it efficient to get up and use the restaurant.

The real reason why the food is cheap? Because staffing is a small fraction compared to other grocery/food stores. Meaning there will only be 3-5 employees in the building per shift. (Yes that includes a manager). The food is cheaper, because Aldi restricts staffing to the extreme without reasonable pay. The founder of Aldi's children now own the business. They are the 3rd wealthiest family. Which begs the questions.. how come your employees aren't given any perks, appropriate pay, PTO?

They work very hard, and most days are called in on their days off. There is no work life balance for this company. It's just work. 84% of the time closers leave around midnight-2am, even though You are scheduled until 8pm. But wait it gets better. After getting done at 2am, you are expected to return at 6am to unload the truck within an hour.. with 2 employees on staff.
Pros
Mileage for helping other stores (If needed)
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garbage management
Warehouse (Current Employee) –  Hinckley, OHOctober 11, 2019
New director a year ago and the place has went totally downhill. Warehouse supervisors are over paid middle men. Shift supervisors had hours cut and totally were screwed over by upper management. overall good place if you want your longest days to be Saturday and sunday. And work 5hr shifts during the week. Management doesn't care about the safety of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Store Associate (Former Employee) –  Inver Grove Heights, MNOctober 11, 2019
A very hard working hands on job. Easy to get injured if not taking good care of yourself. You end up doing every job duty both morning and night shifts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Selector (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSOctober 10, 2019
I enjoyed this job because I was never bored. I always had something to do. And I really enjoyed my co-workers.
The management did not work well as a team and they didn't communicate.
I did enjoy my job and the people that I grew close to within the amount of time I worked there.
Pros
Worked independetly
Cons
Short breaks, hot in summer, cold in winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management is terrible but pays well
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSOctober 10, 2019
The warehouse supervisors like to play favorites with little to no people skills. Very focused on safety of employees. Do not tolerate bullying of any sort
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good entry level job
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saxonburg, PAOctober 10, 2019
Great pay and benefits. Minimal skills required to start, training and required protective shoes provided. Management promotes toxic environment and strong favoritism. Poor leadership and unclear conduct expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work the definition of hard work = ALDI
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 10, 2019
From the time you punch the clock you will be working. You get to interact with people from so many different back grounds which can be good and bad. There is always an opportunity for advancement it's just up to you to make the step. As far as work life balance forget about it. Aldi also does not like to let it's employees go over forty hours. That may be a good and bad thing depending on your situation. If you are in school I advise you not to work there, it can be very hard to juggle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs More Experienced Regional Managers
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Derry, NHOctober 10, 2019
Aldi is a fast paced, high pressure work environment. Everything is timed and they have high expectations. Because of these they offer better than usual pay for employees however I experienced several problems with staffing that regional managment was not responsive to. It seems they hire young business graduates for managers who could use some more real world experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Hornell, New YorkOctober 10, 2019
Was a good place to work just needed more accountability for the associates. Learned a lot of my management skills from another shift manager there and it was a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life varies greatly based on the manager
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCOctober 9, 2019
Working at ALDI for many years, I worked under 4 different managers. The first two were great, then I transferred stores, and the first one at the new store was awful (he was usually at least an hour late and left an hour early) but the second one was probably the best manager I have ever worked with. A typical day varied based on the shift you were scheduled, if there was truck or a reset, and how busy the store was. Everyone does everything from cleaning bathrooms to stocking shelves. It is a hard job, but typically the work environment is great. I liked the hard work, it made me feel as if I accomplished something.
Pros
great pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay but Poor work life balance
STORE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Exton, PAOctober 9, 2019
Great Pay. No work life balance. No growth from store manager level. There is no career path past store manager. Work week 50 plus hours. Store manager salaried. When you are working 50-60 hours a week there is no pay compensation at store manager level. Fast pace with high demands physically. Little to no support from upper management level and/or Warehouse.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ALDI. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 6,242 reviews
51.4K
41.8K
31.5K
2733
1741

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

33%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

33%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss