Best Buy Employee Reviews

Found 22,747 reviews matching the search See all 23,631 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Best Buy selected this as a representative review
Incredible company to work for with an incredible work environment.
Computing Sales Expert (Former Employee) –  Saugus, MAJuly 29, 2019
When I interviewed for Best Buy the GM was incredibly nice, and instead of giving me the position I had applied for he gave me a position better suited for my skills. Although I worked there for a short time Best Buy has an incredible environment that valued personal growth in the company along with a team that quickly became my friends. I would highly recommend working for Best Buy to anyone who asks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Buy is a great company to work for
General Store Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 19, 2019
Best Buy is a great company to work for. The leadership of the company is very involved, have a clear vision of the future and truly cares about the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Buy has a great work atmosphere
SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Sawgrass, FLAugust 19, 2019
Really good working here a brand you can be proud to work for and represent wouldn’t mind working here again I really enjoyed working here lots of possibility to grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transition culture is never fun
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  New York StateAugust 19, 2019
I was brought in as an Operations Manager to a severely dysfunctional store right before the management team walked out. The morale was horrendous, the staff was used to running the asylum, and this was no way to start a career in a new company. My experience may differ from others, but the golf buddy atmosphere and the circumstances did not help anyone involved, so it was not my time to make it work.
Pros
Lots of overtime to clean up a giant mess.
Cons
85 really whiny employees who were robbing the store blind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  San Carlos, CAAugust 19, 2019
Fun job but loaded me with full time hours as a part time employee that also was going to school, so it made it hard to focus on school which was the reason for why I left the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to grow and develop skills.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Tinley Park, ILAugust 19, 2019
I came to Best Buy right out of college hoping to learn some legitimate job skills and advance myself professionally. Best Buy offers some of the most comprehensive training that I have experienced, and they seemed very interested in my success. All of my managers were helpful, my coworkers were understanding when I needed help, and I felt like I was part of the family very quickly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company itself had poor loyalty to employees
Sales Associate (9.50) (Former Employee) –  Denton, TXAugust 19, 2019
The company offered no type of benefits, very little chance for advancement, and the intro management turned a non-commission based position into a cut throat, competitive, hostile environment. Poor leadership is desired by the brass.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Winter Garden, FLAugust 19, 2019
Great life and job experience, does not compensate adequately

wow you guys really set me up with the 150 OooFing word count you clever little swines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Buy- Collaborative and Competitive Workplace
Customer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Florida City, FLAugust 19, 2019
Customers were ensured their purchases went smoothly and with as less hassle as possible. The workplace has lot of staff and experienced workers who will always lend a hand. I learned how a workplace operates and how a business like Best Buy helps their customers exactly what they need. I think the most enjoyable part was learning what new technology or gadget was trending and learn what is being used.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s an Experience
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Elk Grove, CAAugust 19, 2019
Working at Bestbuy is a great experience to work at because there is never a day that it’s the same. Other employees are great to work with!! Work hard and you’ll make it to your goal in and out of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the hardest part of the job
Mobile Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSAugust 19, 2019
so the hardest part of the job is jobwork/life balance missing alot of family stuff to make sure that the company is making $$ but at the end of the day its not a really bad place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity and inclusion
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Hammond, LAAugust 19, 2019
Great place to be yourself and still be accepted not expected to conform. Encouraged to grow and develop at your own pace. Great benefits to fit all different needs. Bonus structure is very attractive and obtainable
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good but...
Inventory/Merch Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lubbock, TXAugust 19, 2019
Overall it was a great place to work, as the the actual workloads were never too demanding, however, it was the people that I had to work under that I had issues with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Retail Environment
Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEAugust 19, 2019
It is not a super competitive place to work at. If you are looking to move up in this company, it is really easy, but it is imperative to become friends with the management staff. You have to be ready to devote much of your time to working a very flexible personal schedule and rubbing elbows with the aforementioned management personnel.

It is not a bad company to work for at all, and if you enjoy retail, it is one of the better company's out there to work for. Some late nights, weekends and holidays are a must, but again, it is retail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and highly dynamic work environment
Samsung Home Theater Expert (Current Employee) –  Anchorage, AKAugust 19, 2019
The work there is great. Dealing with the customers is the best reason to work there. Pay is competitive and depends a lot on your prior experience in that field. Benefits within the company are outstanding. Management needs improvement and can be the hardest part of the job to deal with, but the workplace culture is very team-oriented and makes up for that shortcoming.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Job for a student in need of work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bay Shore, NYAugust 19, 2019
Best Buy is a great place to work if you are a student in need of a job or seeking first job employment

Holidays can be very stressful but the allotted overtime was very nice.

Be prepared for a fast paced work place and environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always forward, evolving lives through technology.
Geek Squad Manager (Current Employee) –  United StatesAugust 19, 2019
I've worked for this company for nearly seven years and I help people every day. My job is to make lives better by allowing tech to help with every day life. Technology is a tool and if used properly we can all better from it. It's not always straightforward and there are bell curves that some need help with. I get to help and it's a great feeling when you improve someone's life. Best buy has helped me grow and improve my own life in addition to helping those in my community with the power of technology.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, yet enjoyable management
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Timonium, MDAugust 19, 2019
Management is very professional and friendly towards working staff. Understanding for mistakes, and genuinely great leadership.
Friendly and approachable staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Marysville, WAAugust 18, 2019
I really loved working here. Everyone was really great. Good environment over all. I learned a lot working here and working here made me a better worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved BBY
Multi-Channel Specialist; Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSAugust 18, 2019
I had a great experience working at Best Buy. I began as a sales associate in Home Theatre, they recognized my aptitude for customer service and I moved quickly into that role. After a few years, I moved into the Geek Squad. I loved working there.

The hardest parts were the holiday hours, but that is to be expected in retail. otherwise, it was a great company to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun place to work
Back Office Manager (Current Employee) –  League City, TXAugust 18, 2019
Great growth experience
Good work life balance
Keep up to date on the latest technology
Customer Satisfaction is number one priority
Employee Development is high priority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Best Buy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 23,631 reviews
57.7K
48.3K
35.2K
21.4K
1911

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP25%
In the Top 25% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Best Buy.

Powered by Comparably