Compass Group Employee Reviews

Found 2,319 reviews matching the search See all 4,365 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall horrible company to work for.
Transporter (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAAugust 18, 2019
Schedule is not put out sometimes until a few days before it ends. We are lucky if get a schedule two weeks in advance. Transporters overworked and underpaid.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Poor management, poor scheduling, unorganized, favoritism, poor pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in an understaffed unit
Bookkeeper (Current Employee) –  Weston, CTAugust 18, 2019
Working in a currently understaffed unit means that even though I was hired to fit a specific role, I’m doing several roles worth of work and not exactly being fairly compensated for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My abilities have never been evaluated
Cook/Prep (Current Employee) –  Midwestern State University (wichita Falls, TX)August 17, 2019
The work is good and really easy. Teamwork is not carried out properly. The manager is not aware of your work, therefore it is difficult for you to evaluate your work and as a result, the promotion or requesting an increase is difficult to get
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Floor Technician (Current Employee) –  Scranton, PAAugust 17, 2019
Poor pay poor communication form top to bottom workers treated like maids nurses and doctors very messy and extremely sloppy... constant feces and urine in bathrooms on floors and toilets
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally Draining
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fletcher, NCAugust 16, 2019
It takes you forever before you get a decent amount of vacation or sick time. The manager was decent for the most part but always had a smart remark when you tried to bring up issues within the department. I would NEVER in my life reccomend working at the location that I worked at unless you have nerves of steel and don't mind listening to people complaining and making unnecessary mess for 8 hours straight.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What can I say
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  Cleveland ClinicAugust 16, 2019
How can I put this. I was really excited to get the job, however that experience quickly changed. Overall the job itself I enjoyed. However with most jobs, you're required two breaks and a lunch. You're lucky to even get lunch. Management with Two particular names in mind (Shane & Vivian) both expect you to kiss their behinds and that's not me. If you have a emergency they don't care. Let's not get started on the employees. All they do is sit back and gossip and are very disrespectful to everyone else. One in particular who worked in the call center. There's no opportunity to move up, unless you apply for an outside position. Oh and when I interviewed I clearly told them what hours I could work and they tried sticking me on evening's. They will still fire you even with a doctor's note as well. The don't care and are very cutthroat
Pros
Free meals & the patients
Cons
No breaks & terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low income
Cook (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYAugust 15, 2019
The beat job with the lower income that I never had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company Culture
Staff Member (Former Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 15, 2019
Extreme Nepotism. You will never get a significant promotion. Pay increases/vacation days are minimal at best-even after years of loyalty.
Excessive upper management, erratic and competitive directives, subject to daily condescension.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get where they want, dump on those who got you there
Response (Current Employee) –  Appleton, WIAugust 15, 2019
The EVS crew did so well, they are getting the top notch "excellence" set up. What happens? Five people quit from first shift, slowly force out the lead on third shift bc of one who is cuddles with the supervisor and gave one guy a break for leaving without notifying anyone. Somehow, mgmt is starting to slip in preferences for who they want, ppl are fighting over positions that are not available and no one gets compensated for the wonderful work accomplished. Just subs and cookies once in a while.
Gossip is rampant but mgmt is part of it. One coworker gets kudos but gets to break rules. Even coddle one guy so much he wasn't ready for his weekend. He had seven weeks.
I trust no one even the slightest. If this is your style, hop into the asylum. Refreshments are waiting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driver
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 14, 2019
Interviewed for driving at the NSC, over the course of 4 months the company had gone thru 3 supervisors and TOTAL loss of all 8 ware house workers. I was told my schedule was 5am to 2pm M-F and 40hrs/week, $570/week. In the beginning I was making 9-10 hours overtime, within a month I was making 25hrs/week, no overtime was allowed or getting a write up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to work.
Cashier/ Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Wellesley, MAAugust 14, 2019
Great pay, great benefits, great schedule. Definitely treated their employees well and was a positive work environment. Kept up with all sanitation regulations well and offered quality food at a good price.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Assosiate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 14, 2019
Hated this job poor management! No room for advancement! Everybody in each others business! Very unprofessional! No room for advancement! Always confusion management telling other employees what you tell them in private!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Outtakes Director, Catering Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MIAugust 14, 2019
My time with Compass Group North America, was a great time! The management is constantly pushing you to grow in some of the best ways! It is a fun and fast paced environment where you get to be creative everyday!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gourmet food preparation was the corporate culture
Functional Analyst (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 14, 2019
If you are into food preparation and presentation, this is the company to work for with many levels of opportunity. The company likes to promote from within and if you are good you will rise to the top quickly.
Pros
the people are wonderful
Cons
benefits are not good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management, hours were always cut, refused breaks
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Sweeny, TXAugust 13, 2019
I was hired on as a fulltime employee, only worked 6 hour days and made less than $9/hr.
We didnt make full time hours, only worked 30 hours a week. Paid every two weeks.
Didnt qualify for benefits, they refused to give us breaks.

They lost their contract with the place anyway.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and Fun Place to Work ,You Are Apart of A Great Family of Food and Service.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, MOAugust 13, 2019
My Many, Many Wonderful, Fun, Memorable years With Compass Group Starting Out as A Utility Worker And A Dishwasher And Then Learning and Growing Over the Years With My Co Workers/ Family. I Had Learned to Grow and Serve Our Corporate Clients, With UnWavering Excellence Each and Everyday. It Was A JOY To Finally Become a Foodservice Cashier Become And The Face of Our Wonderful, Innovative Cafe to Our Corporate Clients. I Love My Job!, and I Enjoyed Working With My Teammates/ Family Serving in There Special Corporate Clients Events Making, Special Memories With Each One of Them. The Management Team Was Very Supportive And Had Given Us The Tools to Succeed On Many Levels of Customer Service and Cilent Support Excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the job
Food service retail (Former Employee) –  Jefferson City, TNAugust 13, 2019
The job was great , i learned a lot about running a coffee shop / grill . I should have gotten lead position since I had been there the longest , but Job was given to a new hire who lied about management experience And eventually fired so a nurses daughter could have my job. If you are not part of the clique , RUN
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
None
Utility Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNAugust 13, 2019
Good job nice people to work with upper management is nice but communication is terrible. Overall I love the job. I have enjoyed my time at Compass group
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
EVS Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAAugust 13, 2019
Great company to work for they pay me very well and they teach me a lot the job was not stressful they have great managers and great employees and they will teach you everything you don't know
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was punctual and team oriented. Everyone prided themselves for excellence.
Food Service Technician (Former Employee) –  LaFollette, TNAugust 13, 2019
Everyone that I was working with was really cool. They were like family. If we were making 15.00 an hour, it would have been the best place to work in the world. But 9.00 just wasn't cutting it. Plus, they didn't offer Holiday pay, which also wasn't cool. Who wants to miss spending Thanksgiving or Christmas with their family only to make 9.00 an hour?
Pros
Discounted meals and sodas
Cons
Didnt pay enough money to make ends meet. Couldnt make it on my own and that was my main objective.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 4,365 reviews
51.1K
41.2K
3958
2429
1719

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.7InHerSight Score

2.4Personal Development

3.0Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight