Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 23,198 reviews matching the search See all 23,228 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many robberies and only security for 3 hours
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 19, 2019
Always short staffed and no one wants to work. Been times I was the only one in store so freight barely could get done. The main thing is too many robberies not a safe place to work because they don’t have security throughout day and night. Unfit working conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar general
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Belington, WVAugust 19, 2019
Loved the job but moved on had a better offer which i sadly regret taking i love dollar general its my go to place for shopping. I mean where else can u get stuff for a low price.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAAugust 19, 2019
Well the dg i worked at had three managers over the past years. Your typical day is get there by 6 and unload stock into store. Trailers come ever three days depending on what store you work at. Its a job, not one you want to work at for years and years. There is no room to move up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work. They need to hire more people who know their job.
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Hartsville, SCAugust 19, 2019
They don't like to train. You will need to hire employees but you will not have the man hours to do so unless you have a high volume store. This is a bad place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect
Assistant Store Manager/Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Hall, VAAugust 19, 2019
Management has no respect for employees , they don't pay enough for the work they expect you to do, there is never coverage to get the ridiculous amount of stuff the require managers to do just a bad company to work for unless you have friends in high places
Pros
Weekly pay checks
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar General
STOCKER (Former Employee) –  Corbin, KYAugust 19, 2019
It was a friendly place to work. The management team was easy to deal with and were always ready to help out. I would go in stock the shelves and leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good work place
Assistant store manager (Former Employee) –  Upper Darby, PAAugust 19, 2019
Racist company Who does not look into situation within their company. Their is a a lot of favoritism going on within the company and thins that should not be happen and nothing being due about it even when reported.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok to work there but didnt get paid enoygh
Assistant store manager (Current Employee) –  Johnson, KSAugust 19, 2019
Dollar General is a ok place to work but you dont get paid enough for what you are required to do depending on the staff you wont get the hours you want to work either
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful
Assitant Manager (Former Employee) –  Eastpointe, MIAugust 19, 2019
Could have just been management, I felt like I was on call for them all the time.I was Assistant Manager for more than a year, and every day Manager would call me in to work or call and yell at me because maybe every thing didn't get done...only 2 employees at at time, and you cannot leave the building even when punched out for lunch...I think is just wrong, needless to say I quit, a huge weight lifted off my shoulders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy With Not Enough Employees Daily
Dollar General (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLAugust 19, 2019
I go into work and do what I am asked but here lately I feel as nothing I do is very appreciated so I'm seeking other opportunities. I have learned many things working at Dollar General such as working well with others, time management, how to manage a store to be very productive and also how to watch a store be run down with poor management. The hardest part of the job is never being able to work as a team anymore because people are too busy trying to always make themselves look better instead of coming together and doing things as one store. The most enjoyable part of the job is now going home or going to lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jamestown, KYAugust 19, 2019
I loved my job that the dollar market and most people I worked with the manager was ok. I would still be there is it wasn’t for my kids needing me to be at home with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun competitive work place
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Pueblo, COAugust 19, 2019
I love working at Dollat General our store manager tries her best to make it fun by having competitions on who can get a rolltainer done faster. Its fun but can be stressful sometimes if your not in the mood to wotk that day but its a great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Cashier, Stocker (Former Employee) –  Suffolk, VA 23434August 19, 2019
The work was easy, it wasn't as peaceful. The customers were friendly , and coworkers as well, store was very organized, and the manager was very helpful to my work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced w minimal hours for employees low pay
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Egg Harbor City, NJAugust 19, 2019
Overworked - under paid. required to work 48 hours (worked more like 80) per week. DM is unsupportive. Ignores requests for help, favors certain managers and ignores others. Favorites of the DM get away with unethical activities including falsifying work hours. DM has hours charged to other stores to keep her budget in line as well as padding inventory for stores at inventory. Managers that are in her click are promoted whereas other managers get demoted or overlooked. The whistle blower act / protection is a joke as when a manager in her click is reported, retaliation is quick and deadly. The DM gives no support to "HER TEAM" and leaves them to flounder with no staff. When the stores fall behind with minimal staff, the DM pulls people from other stores and leaves the stores short handed. You are threatened that if you tell upper management you will be terminated. The pay goes by the store and store managers receive between 28K and 40K depending on the store as a starting wage. But figure in the hours and you make less than your part time sales associates. They dont consider leads to be managers but expect them to complete management duties. Problems with firecodes, health code violations, and building management issues are pushed aside until the building is cited by the city. Store look like trash as they do not keep landscapers. If you want no home / family life then this is the job for you as you will be required to give up your family and any social time for 80 plus hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Store manager candidate (Current Employee) –  Senatobia, MSAugust 19, 2019
It is a pretty good company to work for. Much room for advancement and plenty of training opportunities. Very hands on and not too hard of a job. Benefits are fairly decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar general
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Bremen, INAugust 19, 2019
I worked nights at dollar General. I was a closer. I also stock the shelves when there was no customers. I also took inventory and put away off of trucks. I was also a cashier and helped with customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only worth it if you are jobless currently.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 19, 2019
Extreme amounts of hours as a store manager. Low pay for employees make it impossible to keep a store staffed, the hard work and overly extreme expectations run the underpaid off quickly. High turn over rate in all positions. Management is impossible to communicate with, and they contradict themselves at turn. If you are a store manager looking for any type of developemwnt to advance to multi unit then dollar General is not for you. You will
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked the job
Lead Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Trenton, NJAugust 19, 2019
The job was great I had a lot family stuff goin on n they just let me go with out compassion of my life my mom was in a bad accident my kids needed me to thought I was going to be thier for the long haul great crew tho
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar general
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Danville, KYAugust 19, 2019
Great people but the pay was horrible benefits was horrible and the place itself was not organized appropriately and the place was very cluttered and unsafe. Yu also cant keep nobody there to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offers a average working atmosphere
Team Member/Cashier (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaAugust 19, 2019
Seems to be a good, strong company ! Hours and work ethics are questionable at times ! But overall it's a viable working position with benefits and security !
Pros
Work place
Cons
Public exposure and support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 23,228 reviews
54.9K
45.1K
36.4K
23.2K
13.7K

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Dollar General.

Powered by Comparably