Goodwill Industries Employee Reviews

Found 16,789 reviews matching the search See all 17,141 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok but pay is too low.
job coach (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKAugust 18, 2019
As a job coach it is mentally and physically exhausting. You have no personal breaks and have a working lunch. The pay is terribly low for the work you do. Goodwill offers Insurance but it is unaffordable for almost all employees. The job itself is rewarding and has its perks. You build relationships with the clients and become a real role model for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring stressful
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 18, 2019
It sucked management sucked the job sucked the co workers was horrible please don’t do security here over worked and under paid find something better don’t come here
Pros
I got the out of here
Cons
Security manager and supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super nice place to work! great people
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Lakeville, MNAugust 18, 2019
It was very nice to work there the workers are so kind and everyone helps everyone even if you have a dumb question.Fair pay and good environment to work in!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, too much drama
Custodian Worker (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INAugust 18, 2019
Managers and leaders are bullies. Managers that don't do their job always on their phones and social media or gossiping about other coworkers and leaders who act as managers that bully other co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace with smiling faces everywhere.
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Geneseo, ILAugust 18, 2019
My time at Goodwill has probably been one of the best job experiences anyone could ask for. The Managers on Duty were very assertive if I was either having a hard time with something, or if I needed to know where things needed to go. Both customers and fellow employees are very fun to have a conversation with when you get into the groove of joining Geneseo's Goodwill of the Heartland
Pros
Flexible Hours, Competitive Pay, Helpful Managers
Cons
Short Breaks on Specific Job Placements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Job ever
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Salem, OHAugust 18, 2019
Bullied and treated nasty by co workers, work like a dog, expected to get more done in a short period of time than Humanly possible. Stressful job for low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management in the Employment Service Side. Boss and supervisors pick and choose how they want to treat you. Boss will make you feel dumb most of
Job Coach (Former Employee) –  Employment services Muscatine, IAAugust 18, 2019
I did not have very many positive experiences working here. Not a good place to work due to the management team. I did enjoy seeing clients overcome their barriers and no longer needing job coaching services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Established business with a desirable business plan
Material Handler & Fork Lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 18, 2019
Provided entry level positions and encouraged growth and development. Allowing for a 4-day a week 10 hour shift created flexibility and help to boost morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great stepping stone
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Folsom, CAAugust 18, 2019
Thankful for the experience but time to move up in another company. I feel like I have reach the maximum level of growth for that company and desire to go further in my career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, worth enduring low pay temporarily
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bastrop, TXAugust 17, 2019
I would have never accepted a job offer for the low pay that was offered until I attended orientation. Awesome benefits! Positive energy, faith in people of all walks of life. An opportunity for a 2nd chance for people needing a fresh start. 401K, with company contribution! I was floored. Paid training sets u up for success. Mental
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth
E-Commerce Clerk III, Clerk II and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAAugust 17, 2019
Goodwill Industries is place to grow. Goodwill helps train employees to reach full potential. Goodwill has many departments to help groom employees. Goodwill is a reliable and stable work place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goodwill
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Victorville, CAAugust 17, 2019
Goodwill is fast paced. Your work load varies if you work in retail. You may be a cashier, sorter, donation attendant, sales floor person..etc The pay is minum wage if your in management its a little bit more but you never get raises since it is a non profit. The advancement for promotion is slow.
Pros
Great co workers, different jobs
Cons
No pay raises, slow advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall my first comment would have to definitely be to my Manager who always made time to make sure I was able to ensure my job meshed around my busy
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Newbury Park, CAAugust 17, 2019
Management always made you feel more than just an employee. Was genuinely caring and interested about what was happening in your life. Was able to work without someone overseeing my work because they allowed me to prove myself and therefore would be able to train others
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shameful corporate management
Habilitation Supervisor/Floor Trainer (Former Employee) –  Athens, OHAugust 17, 2019
Corporate does not care one bit about the developmentally disabled individuals they claim to be there to help & serve. They cut corners which is a huge safety issue.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everybody
Vegetable Cook (Current Employee) –  Great Lakes, ILAugust 17, 2019
A job is a job A lot of ppl complain on how they treat us but at the end of the day we are working to get a paycheck but don’t be surprise if you hate it there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Ukiah, CAAugust 17, 2019
Nice place but enough hours, if I had more hours I would probably still be there. Otherwise it’s okay and good environment ..............................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a little bit about my job experience.
cashier (Former Employee) –  Charleston, WVAugust 17, 2019
I have worked in the restraint industry before. I was a hostess/ server at buffalo wild wings a little over a year. as a host there I prepared all the take outs, set the door, cashed out the take outs busted tables, when the servers where busy I went to there tables and I greeted them and asked if I can get there drinks and their servers will be right with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
so so
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 17, 2019
they told me after 90 days i would get the pay i asked for but it was all a lie the upper mgmt. talks down to you not to you they do not trust you they do not know how to treat people with respect they like to get in your face even upper mgmt. he knows who im talking about and scream at you as they have no people skills thats why i quit on them
Pros
ask for 13 per hour and take nothing less
Cons
they like to lie about what you will make
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good store manager
Key Holder Associate (Former Employee) –  Arlington, TXAugust 17, 2019
The store I worked at was great because of the manager and the assistant manager . The production department was brought up to a level of faster pace due to more team work
Pros
Friendly co workers
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at goodwill really helped me gain experience in retail.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 17, 2019
When I began working for goodwill I had no job experience. It was my first ever employed job, they really helped me develop customer service and also work as cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Goodwill Industries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17,141 reviews
55.4K
44.4K
33.9K
21.6K
11.8K

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Women's ratings

2.2Fairygodboss Score

60%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

40%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss