Starbucks Employee Reviews

Found 30,180 reviews matching the search See all 38,113 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, gained a lot of experience
Barista (Former Employee) –  Morris, ILOctober 14, 2019
Every shift you were thrown in to the rush at the time. You had to get used to moving fast and adjusting to the pace of the job. I learned how to handle difficult customers and how to create relationships with the regulars. Management unfortunately was not so great where I was but despite that, the job went smoothly due to the extensive training given to us. The hardest part of the job was probably handling really difficult customers that would get really upset and take out their frustrations on you. The most enjoyable part of this job was meeting all the people that come through. I made lasting relationships with my coworkers and it helped make the job easier and more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks provided me the ability to grow as an adult
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 14, 2019
I learned about stock options, health insurance, customer service, and time management skills while working with this company. I met plenty of individuals that i still associate with and had a wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative and fun workspace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMOctober 14, 2019
Working at Starbucks was like having a safe environment to preform tasks well under pressure with co-workers that felt more like family. it was a very hard job to do but it has been my best work experience so far.
Pros
fun and creative environment
Cons
short breaks, speed made quality go down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks was not my favorite job
Barista (Former Employee) –  Bakersfield, CAOctober 14, 2019
Starbucks ended up being one of the worst jobs I have held next to working at the 18 hundred they refused to work with my schedule because I had another job I never got my split of the tips most of the time and I worked hard to get a promotion and never was even offered one
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and gain knowledge and experience to progress.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Canton, GAOctober 14, 2019
Great structure and culture focused. Able to build relationships with customers to establish rapport. There was internal growth in the company that i was able to take advantage of along with a great benefits package.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast-paced environment
Barista (Former Employee) –  Greenfield, INOctober 14, 2019
Starbucks is a well-known franchise. Personally my personal experience as a barista from working at one of the busiest Starbucks in Indiana (Greenfield, IN State Road 9, & New Road) was a 4/10. I have friends that are partners at other locations who have really great experiences and say it doesn't feel like work because its so fun and inviting. The atmosphere of store 2475 is just very heavy, and strict. Toxic relationships of the boss making and a barista cry or the baristas getting into an argument on the floor happened way too often. Shift managers abusing their power. The order constantly being messed up, corners being cut at the extent of safety, and health is not okay. The favorite part of my time at Store 2475 was the regulars we had and even the new customers the location had a lot of travelers since it was right off of 2 highway exits. I enjoyed the schedule being set three weeks out. The best way to enjoy your time there was to keep your head down, keep quite, and do as you are told.
Pros
Free drinks throughout shift, free food item per shift, can keep food going out the same day, spotify premium, health insurance, cup fund, free lb of coffee per week.
Cons
Short breaks, usually short staffed, alot of call ins, criticism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, productive, and fun.
Barista / Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Issaquah, WAOctober 14, 2019
An enjoyable, busy, and rewarding work place. A typical day involves great customer service, teamwork with co workers, and tasks to keep the store stocked, cleaned, and ready for the next customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretends to care about employees
Barista (Former Employee) –  Santa Rosa, CAOctober 14, 2019
Working for Starbucks was an interesting experience. I originally applied there for their college education program, which promised to help employees attend college. They made it seem as though they would pay for your classes up front, however you were responsible for the full tuition amount up front, which I could not afford. On top of that, they over work you, schedule you just under the hour limit to qualify for full time benefits. Starbucks is basically Walmart; they do not pay their employees what they are worth and in the end, their employees make so little they qualify for government assistance even while working full time. Shame on Starbucks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at the hospital.
Barista, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Morristown, NJOctober 14, 2019
Love working at this Starbucks the management team was very flexible with my schedule due to school. Free drinks all I wanted and I loved my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive yet biased workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 14, 2019
Not my favorite place to be at due to others around me and the unfortunate treatment I've experienced at these stores near nashville. However, a good environment for workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Barista (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXOctober 14, 2019
love working at starbucks, the people, leadership, was amazing. I would go back to working at Starbucks. They treat you with respect if you are a hardworker, this is the job for you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fast paced, high energy job with lots of interaction.
Barista (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXOctober 14, 2019
This job taught me a lot about how to adapt to a variety of situations and the importance of paying close attention to details. A typical day at work included lots of customer interaction and customer service, as well as cleaning and tidying responsibilities and going above and beyond for the guests. This job culture was very inclusive and progressive which I really appreciated. All the employees understood the value and importance of being a team player and it led to a very functional and successful store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks experience
Barista (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAOctober 14, 2019
My experience from start to end was a awesome experience,management,team members and customers were amazing I loved working at Starbucks. I definitely would go back to this company in the future.
Pros
Great benefits and positive environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Model, needs improvement on quality of people hired
Barista, Shift Supervisor and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 14, 2019
The model and concept of a company such as Starbucks is a great environment, but there were unfortunately common instances of bias, favoritism, and unprofessionalism in the elevation of some employees.
Pros
Great benefits, flexible work schedule, extensive training, opportunities for growth
Cons
Bias culture, favoritism, isolated instances of unprofessionalism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, great culture
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAOctober 14, 2019
This was one of my favorite jobs thus far. I love interacting with people so I enjoyed the regular customers and the fast paced environment. There are job perks like discounts on food and free beverages. The benefits are amazing since they will pay for your online Bachelor's degree and even help fund adoption if you choose that path for having children. Medical, dental, and vision are offered if you work even just 20 hours per week. The cons are its hard to move up and sometimes potential can be passed over or unnoticed in an environment such as this. Definitely would work there again part time for fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love hate relationship
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 14, 2019
All jobs have ups and downs. But I did love working for Starbucks and would go back if given the opportunity. Was one of my favorite jobs and I enjoyed the diversity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of pros and cons
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Rapid City, SDOctober 14, 2019
The benefits at this job are amazing. But the hourly pay wage is not enough and it is nearly impossible to get a raise. The goals that are set by upper management seem impossible sometimes but it is a company with good moral standing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to build connections within your community
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVOctober 14, 2019
I have formed great bonds with regular customers who come in and converse with me. It also feels great to watch people leave with smiles on their faces just because of a simple hello. Loved forming a connection within my community. I have built friendships within the workplace as well. Loved how busy it is during rush hour and how relaxed it is towards the end of the day. However, the store has poor management.
Pros
Free lunches, coffee
Cons
short breaks, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy, intense but steady work environment with the right team!
Barista / Barista Trainer (Former Employee) –  Astoria, NYOctober 14, 2019
A typical day at Starbucks could be a mix between extremely busy early morning, mid tempo during mid morning and then back to high intensity by noon. If you're working with seasoned baristas the day is a lot more bearable however with the constant pressure from our management at the time it made it difficult for the team to maintain morale. The hardest part of the job was having to work alongside baristas who lacked work ethic or decorum when it came to dealing with unruly customers. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to create a pleasant experience for both new customers and our regulars.
Pros
Free food and beverages during shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for students/parents.
Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 14, 2019
Busy, fast-paced, high-speed days. Speed of service is very important and measured every half hour and each store has specific goals for drive-thru times. PT benefits were really nice for me as a student.
Pros
PT benefits, 1 free food markout, unlimited drinks while WORKING (does not work on your day off)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Starbucks. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 38,113 reviews
515.1K
413.4K
36.6K
21.8K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
4.0Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

2.8Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight