Play YouTube video button

U.S. Navy Employee Reviews

Found 32,666 reviews matching the search See all 34,547 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
U.S. Navy selected this as a representative review
Mission Driven work environment. Supports employees and creates a team environment.
Recruiter/ Canvasser (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, GAMay 3, 2019
My tenure with the United States Navy was rewarding. The work environment was productive while still encouraging a family like workplace. Oppurtunity for promotion was fair. Superiors did an excellent job of making sure personnel were given the tools to succeed and off the clock. All employees were thoroughly trained on how to do their job and given opportunities to seek positions of higher authority. Occasionally, working hours were long and last minute changes were thrown into the workload.
Pros
Pay, People
Cons
Occasional extended working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 19, 2019
Toxic work environment. Everyone is out for themselves. Long hours with no overtime. Long days away from family. Extremely difficult to have a social life. They use you till you are no longer useful then ignore you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stability
Electronic Technician (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 19, 2019
The Navy offers stability to your life. You have to work hard at times, but all the benefits are worth it. You have a constant paycheck no matter how much you work. You get to experience the world and the insurance is amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive work environment
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 19, 2019
We reviewed navy standards, did PT, studied for our advancement exam, stood watch, maintained the base. Organized mail for the base, organized boxes from shipments. Prepared for mobilization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy
Medic (Former Employee) –  Patuxent River, MDAugust 19, 2019
Being in the Navy is very structured and they expect you to be proficient at your job and consistent. The leadership at times weren’t the best at mentoring, but there was camaraderie Between co workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy Life
Logistic Specialist - Supply Technician (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 19, 2019
Good comradeship and life experiencies gallor. Some occult activities due to older traditions.

You will get free travel around the world, but thier food could use some work. Hard work 16 hours a day if out of the country. When state side you normally work 8 hours. Rough for families, better for single people.

Advancement all depends on the job you pick. DO NOT GO UNDESIGNATED! Pick an job field to go in to. You can switch later if you wish. Learn to swim.

At a minnimum learn to float. Good luck.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Patuxent River, MDAugust 19, 2019
Outstanding people wanting to support your country, pay was great, professional co workers, started early in the morning working in the same building for 1/2 of my career. Recommend the civ US Navy to any of my friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience and Travel
Aviation Electrician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 19, 2019
I had a great experience while in the NAVY, got to travel to different parts of the world an learned a trade, was a certified Micro Mini Repair technician.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Senior Staff, Lockheed Martin and Space Systems (Former Employee) –  Cape Canaveral, FLAugust 19, 2019
Very friendly atmosphere. People oriented, equal employment opportunity. Regular promotions and salary increases with merit raises. Recognize you when you perform your job as per expectation.
Excellent benefits, plenty of vacation and sick leaves. Annual get together parties and chance for business travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usn
Petty Officer (Former Employee) –  Oak Harbor, WAAugust 19, 2019
The Navy is what you make of it. it's either you like it or you don't! working,Traveling around the world, doing things that others only read about in books, yeah the Navy can suck at times but the people you meet an the things you'll do will stay with you forever. (Good or Bad it's all in court!)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reflecting back on my career.
Aviation Ordnanceman • Second Class Petty Officer (Current Employee) –  Oak Harbor, WAAugust 18, 2019
The Navy gave me alot of great things that I will forever be grateful for. The problem is advancement ratio is too eratic, management and communication are always poor and the pay was less than desirable. Travel opportunities and relationship opportunities are second to none though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Us Navy
Aviation Structural Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 18, 2019
Great job. Advancement opportunities. The military offers a lot of advantages while serving and after you get out. Every young adult should look into what all the military offers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time and resources
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAAugust 18, 2019
Imagine waking up everyday and having no impact. The work you do doesn't matter and people are only out for themselves. Especially the leaders both enlisted and officer. This sums up the navy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy
Aviation Ordnanceman (Current Employee) –  Bremerton, WAAugust 18, 2019
The military is not a bad place to be. It helped my grow and helped me learn not only about myself but about being a leader. I have nothing negative to say about the navy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go Navy!
Damage Controlman First Class (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 18, 2019
The Navy changed the course of my life in unforeseeable ways. Starting as a 17 year old who didn't know what to do with my life, Naval Service gave me purpose and dedication. I would go back in a heartbeat if I could. There is nothing better than being able to say that I served in the United States Navy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work culture
Technician (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 18, 2019
Going to the navy and seeing the world was a great experience. Standing watches and making meals for the ship was also apart of the job . Seeing different countries and meeting different people make the job a lot easier to deal with job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeper
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Bremerton, WAAugust 18, 2019
I clean various room ,mop,vacuum, where ppe and I clean walls and take trash though out shifts and I work all kind of shifts to like days,swing and graveyard etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands on work environment
Logistics Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newport News, VAAugust 18, 2019
Great job, very hands on. Good benefits attached and good work/family balance. Typical work day includes customer service, work as a mail clerk and dealing with online systems that allow you to receive and or order items for the command or unit.

Leadership brings good morale to the environment. The workplace culture is very loose, but comfortable. The hardest part of the job was going on detachments away from my family. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people and building relationships and networking, learning new skills to become an asset.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work and advancement opportunities
Pump Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 18, 2019
Best years of my life, never Regreat a second working for the U S. NAVY
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The navy is an experience
Aviation Technician (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 18, 2019
Working with the government can be stressful but also interesting and fun. You get to socialize with people from a million different backgrounds. You get to live life in multiple cities and countries. You get to learn so many different skills. I love it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Military Life
Information Systems Technician (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 17, 2019
The military is what it is. Depending on the people you work with is how you may experience the military. Job security and medical insurance is a plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Navy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 34,547 reviews
518.7K
410.2K
34.2K
2817
1568

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight