Play YouTube video button

U.S. Navy Employee Reviews

Found 33,251 reviews matching the search See all 35,153 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
U.S. Navy selected this as a representative review
Mission Driven work environment. Supports employees and creates a team environment.
Recruiter/ Canvasser (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, GAMay 3, 2019
My tenure with the United States Navy was rewarding. The work environment was productive while still encouraging a family like workplace. Oppurtunity for promotion was fair. Superiors did an excellent job of making sure personnel were given the tools to succeed and off the clock. All employees were thoroughly trained on how to do their job and given opportunities to seek positions of higher authority. Occasionally, working hours were long and last minute changes were thrown into the workload.
Pros
Pay, People
Cons
Occasional extended working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding place to work
Work Center Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 14, 2019
While in the military I learned critical skills such as leadership, attention to detail, perseverance, organization, integrity, discipline. These skills have become apart of who I am and have prepared me to tackle any task placed before me with excellence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hey in hik
Petty Officer Third Class (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 14, 2019
Sea control means total control of the seas for the free movement of all. It means control of set air, surface, and subsurface areas, when and where needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Aviation Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 14, 2019
It was a great experience to learn and grow. It also gave people the opportunity to work with people from foriegn countries and cultures while bringing a new appreciation for our culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Navy
Aviation Ordnanceman Second Class/ Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 14, 2019
I am close to finishing my eight year enlistment. The Navy has changed a lot in those years. The rules are always changing but the mentality has gotten worse. The reason why is because they expect you to accept the nonsense. They want your mind to be numb to it. If you are okay with settling for this lifestyle and watching others get recognized for your hard work, by all means, join the Navy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community pharmacy in clinic setting
Intern (Former Employee) –  Groton, CTOctober 14, 2019
Productive workplace with excellent teamwork. Pharmacist is able to practice at the top of their license by counseling, prescribing, and , managing medications
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace environment, learn as you go
Culinary Specialist (Former Employee) –  Shore duty and deployableOctober 14, 2019
To serve in the military you have to have a good patience and understanding. Sacrifices is what makes our self motivated and ideal to many fellow Americans doing the right thing is always A plus.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its the military
Leading Petty Officer (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLOctober 14, 2019
There is a given amount of pain associated with working in the military. Alot of people complaining. I dont. It was a good life. I'm leaving after 20 years and am happy with the result. As with any business be it civilian or military you will work for people you may not like or agree with. It's that diversity that has made me a valuable member to the civilian workforce
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You clean a lot and do tons of maintenance.
Aviation Ordnanceman (Former Employee) –  Bremerton, WAOctober 14, 2019
If your good at making friends, you'd be awesome for the Navy. I had a fun time unfortunately it was cut short due to some medical issues, but the bonds and friends I've I cherish to this day. Memories never fade and fun times always linger, if your a lost soul and can't figure out life, join up and try it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor schedule with worse management
Nuclear Prototype Instructor (Current Employee) –  Ballston Spa, NYOctober 14, 2019
The pay is decent for being able to join with no skills, however the job demands that it become your life first and foremost. So, if a Navy sailor is not all you strive to be its probably not the job for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy
hospital corpsman (Former Employee) –  Great Lakes Naval Training Center, ILOctober 13, 2019
Very hard working position. You have to be tough and know everything is worth it. Amazing feeling to serve your country. Many opportunities to advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with ping pong tables
Department Lead (Former Employee) –  Various LocationsOctober 13, 2019
Nothing significant to add to this because the navy was and is the place to be in these times. Everyone should have the honor and courage of joining a service to give back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the military
Boatswain Mate (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAOctober 13, 2019
I only give the Navy a five star review because before enlisting into the service you need to accomplish some research. I have become a much better person because of my time in the service, but there are things within the culture that need to change. I will not cover these things in this review on indeed because it is unnecessary. Do your research, look up a job, take your time, and good luck shipmate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of attention to detail
Recruit/Yeoman (Former Employee) –  Florence, SCOctober 13, 2019
The Navy honed intellectual and observatory skills, as well as served as tons of experience working in all types of environments, conditions, and stress levels.
Pros
Lack of expensive, learned skills, travel, experience, networking
Cons
working conditions, pay vs hours, lack of freedom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family
Aircraft Maintenance Supervisor, Quality Assurance (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 12, 2019
Being away from family causes many issues. The balance between work and family is hard to manage especially when family is your focus. Great opportunity as a single person.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Navy liaison
Liaison (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLOctober 12, 2019
The job is high pace stressful job. Filling individual ambitions of joint the military. We do not work by hours so days can be long but working with good people trying to accomplish a mission.
Pros
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Efficient
Hospital Corpsman (Current Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLOctober 12, 2019
Nothing but hard workers and diligent sailors proud to serve there country.
The travel, the pay, or just enjoying a new life style many things await you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its your Career
Yeoman (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 12, 2019
Basically you make your career in the Navy. It all affects your attitude and your choices for you to succeed. If you want a long successful career you make that choice
Pros
Travel the world
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
U.S. Navy
Human Resources Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 12, 2019
The Navy was okay not really for me the culture is always different sometime for the better most times your heading into a worst situation. As long as you keep focus on yourself and not the so called team mate culture but you have to have your own self in the end.
Pros
Job security
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great benefits.
Electronics Technician Chief Petty Officer (Current Employee) –  VariesOctober 12, 2019
The Military is not for everyone but it was right for me. Hours vary from command to command. I was in submarines and sometimes worked 7 days a week 14 plus hours a day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on you
Sonar Technician Surface (Former Employee) –  Whidbey Island, WAOctober 12, 2019
The Navy is a great option for several people, but it all depends on you and your lifestyle. If you are a person who has a hard time with people telling you what to do, then it's not a job for you, it's the military. Being in the Navy is also very unpredictable - which can be hard on families. However, if you are willing to sacrifice a "normal life" then this is a great job. You will be taken care of, as long as you put in the work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Navy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 35,153 reviews
519K
410.4K
34.3K
2844
1593

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.9InHerSight Score

3.0Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight